top of page

Disney's Port Orleans Riverside Resort

Relaxing, Gorgeous, Must Do Again!

If this picture had a soundtrack, it would be from "The Princess and the Frog". I mean...that movie! I remember watching it for the first time. I was by myself, laughing and sobbing and calling my family to tell them to watch it NOW!! All the hope, the dreams, the music. This resort picks you up and carries you right to New Orleans where the movie takes place & it couldn't be more lovely!

The hotel room buildings that look plantations, the riverwalk lined with magnolia trees. It was a calm and quiet resort which was what we were looking for this trip! We debated on Riverside or the French Quarter, and since we didn't have the kids this time, we went with Riverside for a little more of a relaxed vibe. That's exactly what we experienced!

We decided to stay in the Royal Rooms, and we felt like royalty! I mean, you push a button on the headboard and you get a little fireworks show..that's pretty fancy!!

The Royal Rooms are a close distance to the food court, main lobby, riverboat & transportation. Although you do pay more, it's worth it to feel like you are living in your own magical castle! Even if it's just for a couple days.

If you stay at a Disney resort, you know you will be making trips to the food court. I mean, who doesn't want a bedtime treat after a long day at the parks?? We always buy the reusable resort mugs for unlimited drink refills during our stay. I'm not a soda drinker except for on occasion, BUT you get unlimited refills on coffee with these mugs, too! Coffee lovers, high five! Plus, you get a nice little souvenir and I just used it this morning to bring my coffee to my son's baseball game!

All Disney resorts have transportation options to and from the parks and Disney Springs. Mostly by bus, but here at Port Orleans Riverside and French Quarter, you get to take a riverboat between the 2 resorts AND Disney Springs! The boat runs on a schedule so it makes it easy for you to manage your time. We even played a little four square game with the crew while we were waiting for our boat to arrive. Disney brings out the kid in all of us!!

We are actually heading BACK to Port Orleans Riverside in September, this time WITH kids!! This is hands down my favorite Disney resort I have stayed at so far!!


Who has stayed at either Port Orleans Riverside or French Quarter?? Which is your favorite?!

bottom of page