top of page

Fall Family Photoshoot!

My favorite tips for choosing outfits for your family photoshoot!

The time has come! It's only August, but I am rapidly searching for our outfits for our annual Pumpkin Patch family picture!! This will be our 6th year taking pictures at this same location. It's a small church located in our town, and we love it!


Every year we pick out our pumpkins to carve, the boys pick out tiny pumpkins, and we buy their homemade pumpkin bread...YUMMY!


Now, the picture above is our "perfect shot" out of mannnny outtakes! I must say, going through the camera roll after the shoot always has me cracking up!! So keep scrolling to enjoy a few goodies...

My husband likes to talk during the shoots so he is always mid sentence, I'm usually fixing or adjusting my outfit. Our youngest likes to do his own thing and our oldest is actually a character so he doesn't mind posing for the camera. But, we always have a few perfect shots to take away and use are our "highlight reel" as they call it.

We do not hire a photographer. It is a family affair and my Mom and sister are the ones who snap away! We use an iPhone & a Nikon camera. The iPhone always has the fun videos and different angles, but whoever is behind the actual camera gets the best quality photo, in my opinion!

Photoshoot Tips:

1. Planning - I research other family photoshoots on Pinterest for inspo, and gather my favorite color combos and go from there! I try not to duplicate the colors we have done before, but I will keep similar tones for Fall.


2. Choosing - I always look for outfits online...this is the fun part! The boys are so easy to style because they look handsome in everything!! I love mixing patterns, and I try not to do "matchy matchy" but more "meshy meshy", lol! Colors that go together and compliment each other and will also pop in front of any background we do.


3. Style - We live in Florida, but I want the cozy Fall vibe. So you wouldn't be able to tell that it's 90 degrees in our pictures, but it's usually done in 15 minutes so we can handle it! Long sleeves, pants, boots, flannels...now I want a pumpkin spice latte!


4. Pro tip - I love letting the kids have "props"! We get little pumpkins for them to hold, we brought "Bear" to this photoshoot...and lollipops! Whatever will keep the little ones occupied for a couple pictures works for me!


5. Bonus - whatever we wear for our Fall photoshoot, we wear for Thanksgiving dinner!! So it's a bonus to know that the outfits we purchase for the pumpkin patch are guaranteed to be worn again!

Gah! Just look at those faces!! :)


I had so much fun going back through my camera roll to post these pictures for you!! I'm so excited that we are almost to that time again! I have saved my favorite options for our 2019 photoshoot. I just have to finalize the outfits and we are on our way!


Thanks for taking a little peak into our fun Fall photoshoot from last year!!


Do you take annual or seasonal family pictures??


Xo, Alicia

bottom of page